About Me

My photo
United Kingdom
I'm just a poor little Heffer, trying to survive and live life to the full amongst the rest of the cattle around the world, before I am eventually led to the slaughterhouse.....

Sunday, 17 January 2010

Another unproductive weekend

As you can see, I have had a rather exciting weekend....

Not much to say as did absolutely sod all, making it a really productive one and all.

Highlight for me would have to be running 10k in really rotten weather, which left me with sogging wet feet and socks (eww!), as well as sore muscles - took me nearly 20 mins to get my clothes off. To top it off I think I am also comin down with something AGAIN!

Oh well, better stop whinging and get on with the rest of the laundry..... That would be the most productive thing I've done this weekend...

Wednesday, 13 January 2010

Saturday night - summed up 4 days later...


I know it's a bit late to talk about what happened nearly 4 days ago, but I was too hungover to do it the next day, too busy the following day, and forgot yesterday.....
As the above image shows, I was in a right state on Saturday - I can't remember the last time I got that steaming drunk. The worst part is I deliberately took little money out with me so that I would not end up getting too drunk - so much for the strategy.
So yeah, as my friend and I were getting ready to go out for birthday girl's celebration, we guzzled a bottle of wine, mostly for dutch courage (neither of us was actually looking forward to going out in freezing cold, but we promised the birthday girl we would go, no matter what the weather), but also so that we wouldn't feel the cold as we headed to birthday girl's house.
After making our way to friends house (amazingly without falling flat on my arse in my ridiculously high heels), we get taxi up to town centre, into bar I bloody hate - always the same shit...
As we sat in bar with group of birthday girl's friends (none of whom I knew or remember), birthday girl kept disappearing off somewhere, doing her thing. Meanwhile my buddy and I started to get bored, wondering when we'd get out of this hell hole.
Eventually we popped out to another bar (some 80's style club - I hate 80's music!) with the intention of going back to shitty bar of course (yeah right!)! By this time we had already gone through 2 bottes of wine, a couple of shots, and very strong drink mixed with coke...
We were pleasantly surprised by the 80's disco bar, was nowhere near as bad/tacky as I thought it would be - I even spotted a cute guy, who was eyeing me up. Whoop whoop!
Yet just as I was plucking up the courage to approach the cute guy, my buddy tells me we need to go back to shitty bar (noo!!). So we head back to shitty bar, only to find the bouncer wouldn't let my buddy back in, as he didn't like her expired passport (what a shame!). So we tell the birthday girl we can't get back in and had straightover to vodka bar.
At this point I am dysfunctional. Nevertheless we purchase another bottle of wine in vodka bar, chat up a few lads, then make our way to dance floor, where I am constantly bombarded by big lads, who think it's okay to approach a woman from behind and wrap arms around her waist - so unclassy and undignifying.
Anyway as I'm trying to get away from the 2 big guys, my buddy is dancing with some other lad, who happens to be one of the big lads' mates (f**king great!).
Later on my buddy invites the other lad, plus big friend back to her flat.
Back at her flat, music is put on, everyone is chatting - well, everyone apart from me, I'm too busy passing out no sofa. In the meantime big lad proceeds to caress my arse for the rest of the night (my Prince Charming!). My buddy goes to bed with the other lad, leaving to me share sofa with the big lad - great!
In fairness though, it was a good night - alot better than we thought it would be.
And it was nice to feel desirable, even if guy chasing me was not my cuppa tea....

Saturday, 9 January 2010

Running in the snow and my first 3D movie experience


Yes I realise how nerdy I look in my 'Brains' specs, but I have a good reason for wearing them: I recently went to the pics to watch my first movie in 3D - Avatar.

I must say I rather enjoyed the 3D effects, despite the somewhat slow start in the film - didn't help that a bunch of wankers turned up just as the film was starting and proceeded to mutter amongst themselves throughout the whole film.

I barely resisted the urge to turn around and bark the words 'WILL U SHUT THE F**K UP!' at them - I was very close though. At the end of the day, I did not spend nearly a tenner to listen some knob head talk through the whole bloody film!

Otherwise good film, even if the 'Navi' lovescene was bit cringeworthy. I later learned that the media reported people complaining about the film, claiming it was racist, etc. I can see why people may think that, as the way the Navi (blue inhabitants of planet Pandora in case u dont know) were portraye,d was remarkably similar to how primitive African tribes are typically portrayed.

Personally I did not take offence to it - either way it's no worse than some of the other sci-fi movies, such as Star Wars (no offence, Star Wars fans).

So that was my highlight of the week so far... another highlight of the week consisted of me having a rather dirty dream of the lad I'm currently trying to persuade to travel to Dublin so I can flirt outrageously with him. DAMN, it was such a sweet dream, I really did not want to wake up.....

Then this morning, I bravely went for a 5 mile run around the park in the snow and amazingly managed not to spank it on my arse or injure myself - a rare feat if I may say.

As I was heading back home, i came across a whole flock of geese and ducks, whole were all clustered together in the only section of the lake which was not frozen. Seeing the way they all literally leapt out the lake whenever someone came along with some bread crumbs was hysterical.

I just had to take a couple of piccies....




And this is my new mate, Ducky.
A'RIGHT DUCKY!!!!

Friday, 1 January 2010

Year review 2009 - sort of...


The text in the above image pretty much sums up how I feel about 2009.
Can't see much of my face in picture either, as I am kinda hiding it, due to serious hangover I have from last nights festivities; just went round friends house for boogie and session on the good old singstar game (I lost everytime). Being a classy event it was, my best friend ended up having a vicious cat fight with her younger sibling, who started it. Other than that, it was pretty uneventful, which suited me fine, considering the last couple of crap days I had previously....
Never in my life have I been more eager for a year such as this one to end, particularly as it's been riddled with problems and various disasters, all of which were unavoidable (splitting up with ex-fiance, getting stalked and harrassed by ex, money situation, trying to sort out central heating, not being able to do much decorating - ooh and car dying on me; that's right, they were unable to fix this car). So all in all, bit of a crap year.
However it wasn't all doom and gloom this year; there have been some highlights too, believe it or not:
  • Managed to keep hold of current job for more than a year
  • Escaped abusive relationship - helped me appreciate my family, who were so supportive throughout the ordeal.
  • Ran my first 10k in less than an hour
  • Finished paying off car loan (couple months later, damn thing had to die)
  • Started working on the house, though can't take much credit
  • Learnt to crochet by myself and made a scarf
  • Finally learnt to use sewing machine, which I had bought nearly a year before

Not exactly an exciting list of achievements I know, but gotta big myself up somehow!

As a rule, I try not to make any new year's resolutions as never stick to them, but I do think it's nice to set myself a couple of objectives/goals, as it helps me make the most of life, rather than just plod through it. So my personal objectives for next year are:

  • Pay off my debts by October
  • Use time more effectively
  • Make the most of my single status (more freedom, don't have to worry about what other hald thinks)
  • Spend more time with friends and family
  • Stop stressing about career (no point as don't know what kind of job I REALLY want)
  • Run half marathon (already entered one, so just need to sort out the training, and stay injury free)
  • Stop setting silly, unrealistic goals!!

Think that's reasonable enough, don't you?